SOLSC Day 23: A Nice Surprise

So, you know when you have those days when you just feel overwhelmed, stressed, and just “done.” That’s how I was feeling this week for some reason. I sliced about this on Tuesday actually, and many of us seem to be feeling it a bit this time of year.

Then as I was getting ready to leave for the day yesterday, I decided to check my email quick and had an email letting me know that I have been nominated for Teacher of the Year in the district that I teach in. Honestly, it made me pretty happy. It came at the perfect time when I just needed something to perk me up a bit and that email did the trick.

I have no idea which parent/student it was, and I won’t know until the “award dinner” on May 5th. I’ve been a few times, as this is my 2nd time being nominated, but have had friends in my building get nominated and have gone to support. It’s a nice night. Everyone is dressed up, they have dinner and cocktails, and  each letter that was written for each of the nominees gets read aloud. At the end of the night they will announce the winner. A “blind panel” of volunteers read all the letters and decide from that who should get the award for the year. All of us will receive a $100 gift card to a restaurant and a certificate,  and the winner also receives an award, $1000 cash and a donation to their school as well. It’s a really nice night celebrating teachers, and there are many amazing teachers being nominated, as there are ever year.

Honestly, I don’t even think about “winning” it at all, as it really is an honor to be nominated. Especially since I work with some  wonderful, dedicated, caring teachers that sometimes don’t ever get the recognition they deserve! We all know in this field that we sometimes will only hear from a parent when they are upset or concerned, but  hardly ever what we are doing right. We all work hard and dedicate ourselves to our students, so it was a really nice feeling to know that someone out there appreciates what we do.

 

This is what I walked into today in my classroom. 🙂

IMG_6404slice-of-life_individual

5 thoughts on “SOLSC Day 23: A Nice Surprise

  1. This is awesome!! Congratulations!! You are so right, we work in an often unappreciated field. It is so nice when parents and students recognize us. You must have made quite the impact on them!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

