SOLSC Day 8: An amazing surprise!

My students are currently working on their own March writing challenges, and I thought it might be cool, if I worked on mine at the same time.

Today I am feeling a bit lighter than yesterday even with Drew’s 15th anniversary looming tomorrow.  Yesterday was tough, and it didn’t help that I had to go to a wake last night for a co-worker who just lost her own brother to ALS.  I made it through it though, as hard as it was, and was happy to be there for a friend, especially since I could totally relate to what she was going through. I would be lying if I said that I wasn’t so anxious to get out of there and had a few glasses of wine when I got home.

I have about an hour left of my official work day, and then my husband is taking me into the city to see STING tonight! I can not wait, and this show is going to be amazing!  I love that he thought to plan something fun for us to do and to surprise me, knowing what tomorrow is and just how hard this week is for me. My brother and I were both such huge police fans and going to this show tonight will be such good medicine. The fact that I have tomorrow off, and don’t have to get up early and come to work will be great too. I plan on spending the day with my family and just relax. I am just so excited to finish up here and to get in town!!!

I am deciding right now, that although it’s an emotional time with this milestone anniversary tomorrow (I truly can’t believe he’s been gone 15 years!), I am hoping to spend tonight and tomorrow celebrating my brother’s life and the time we had with him, instead of mourning his death.

5 thoughts on “SOLSC Day 8: An amazing surprise!

  1. Your husband sounds like he knows exactly what you need! Again, I’m so sorry for your loss and that this is such a difficult week for you. I hope your evening is amazing and helps you make some great new memories to compliment the old ones!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

